The Palace of Illusions by Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni✨ : Book Review

It took me just 1 day to finish this magical book & I can’t wait anymore to share my views about it.

#nospoilers#😂🙌

Synopsis: Based on the greatest & most epic tale in the Hindu Mythology, Mahabharata, Chitra Banerjee had done complete justice in portraying a difficult tale. The Palace of Illusions is written from the perspective of Draupadi (also known as Panchalii, wife of the five Pandu Putras). The story begins from the birth of Draupadi & her brother from fire & swiftly describes her whole life.

Why you should read it?

  • The writing style is beautiful & comprehensible. A more appropriate term is ‘relaxing‘. The way she has described all the emotions of the characters, the detailings of the vista, it is smooth & effortless. I don’t know about others who’ve read it already,but I’ve fallen for her imagination & beautiful thoughts.
  • The epic tale: you just can’t miss this amazing & marvelous masterpiece. From my childhood, I’ve grown up listening to the hindu mythologies but I was never thorough with it. And I can bet that you won’t feel a cringe of boredom while reading it. You’ll be hooked until u finish it.
  • Female centric story: As said above, it’s from Draupadi’s point of view. So, if u have ever been curious to know more about her life, this is the best book to grab. I’m glad that I chose this book over Mahabharata as I already knew the story but wanted to know more about her life & I learned a lot.
  • If u r a lover of Hindu Mythologies, this will be a binge read.

I’m quoting some of my fav lines from the book 😬

“A problem becomes a problem only if you believe it to be so.And often others see you as you see yourself.”,
Krishna said
“We cannot force ourselves to love—or to withhold it. At best, we can curb our actions. The heart itself is beyond control.
That is its power, and its weakness.”,
Sorceress said
“There was an unexpected freedom in fi nding out that one wasn’t as important as one had always assumed.”, Draupadi thought.

I don’t know whether I’m being partial or this story & Chitra had completely wooed me😂, but I don’t find any flaws in this book.🙃 Instead I’ve fallen in love with Krishna’s & Karna’s character specifically & surely I’m gonna read more about them 🙃😁

Ratings- 4.9/5

Tell me in the comments how u found the book😉💜

Published by A Wallflower🌸

Hey! reader😄 Thank u for passing by & having a look at my profile. I'm from India & currently a CA who loves books, binging good content, food & travel🍃😋 I write anything that happens in my life which I feel sharing with you guys🪄 Hope you like my world. Would be grateful if even a percentage of my thoughts can affect your life in a better way😇

2 thoughts on “The Palace of Illusions by Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni✨ : Book Review

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started